top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSandra Cole

Our New Garden

Updated: Jul 11, 2018

I purchased the kit (all the hardware and the plan guide) for $199 on Amazon. The lumber was purchased separately. We lined it in plastic (because it was treated lumber and we didn't want the chemicals to seep into our food), then filled the bottom half with hay and layered soil on top. This allowed me to save some money this year, rather than filling it in completely with dirt. I will add dirt each year as the hay decomposes. In all it cost me a tad over $500. I was blessed to receive a grant from Terri Lynn Lokhoff Foundation for $500 and I also received a National Child Care Teacher Award with an additional $500 in spending money. I couldn't have completed the garden without the funding. So I am forever grateful. If you want more information on how to apply go to https://www.tllccf.org/


My dad Bill, my brother Billy and my husband Albert were the builders.










Plastic Liner was added

Hay was added.


Dirt was added on top of the Hay.

I used a word burning tool to create our signs.

I used popsicle sticks to line our rows. This was done to help give kids a guide when watering.







10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page